The Society of Advocates of KwaZulu-Natal is a constituent member of the General Council of the Bar and has the following objects:

1. The protection of the interests of the Bar in Natal, and of the individual members of the Society in their professional capacity

2. The supervision of the conduct of members;

3. The consideration and promotion of improvements in the teaching and practice of the law and in the administration of justice.

Membership is open to every Advocate admitted or enrolled in KwaZulu-Natal and practising there as an Advocate only, subject to that person satisfying the requirements of the Society. Associate membership is open to certain categories of persons reflected in the Constitution of the Society.

There are two centres at which members of the Society practice, namely:

1. Pietermaritzburg, the seat of the Natal Provincial Division of the High Court of South Africa; and

2. Durban, the seat of the Durban and Coast Local Division of the High Court of South Africa.

Whilst the affairs of the Society are run by the Bar Council, comprising members from each centre, each centre has its own Constitution and runs certain affairs, largely relating to housing and the like, which can more practically be dealt with by the centres individually.Chambers in Pietermaritzburg are located in a single building situated at 17 Prince Edward Street, which is conveniently situated for access to both the High Court and the Magistrate’s Court.Members practising in Durban are, at present, located in four buildings, namely Salmon Grove Chambers, 407 Smith Street, Durban, Durban Club Place, 6 Durban Club Place, Durban, 40 Masonic Grove, Durban and The Marine, 22 Gardiner Street, Durban.

For information on matters relating to pupillage, the history of the KwaZulu-Natal Bar, the composition
of the Bar Council and individual members kindly refer to the relevant pages in the website.

©2005 KwaZulu Natal. All rights reserved.